• Timothy Rose

Texas Drug Possession Levels

Drug Charges


Delivery of Marijuana:


1/4 oz. or less & no remuneration (Class B)

1/4 oz. or less & remuneration (Class A)

> 1/4 oz to 5lbs. (State Jail)

>5lbs. to 50 lbs.(2nd degree)

>50 lbs. to 2,000 lbs. (1st degree)

>2,000 lbs. (life or 10-99 and up to $100,000)


Possession of Marijuana:


2 oz. or less (Class B)

>2 oz.-4oz. (Class A)

>4oz.-5 lbs. (State Jail)

>5lbs.-50 lbs. (3rd degree)

>50 lbs.-2,000 lbs. (2nd degree)

>2,000 lbs. (life or 5-99 and up to $50,000)


Possession of Controlled Substance


Penalty Group 1: Heroin, Cocaine, Methamphetamine, Hydrocodone, Oxycodone, etc.


Possession:


<1g (State Jail)

1-<4g (3rd degree)

4-<200g (2nd degree)

200-<400g (1st degree)

400g+ (life or 10-99 + up to $100,000)

     

Manufacture/Delivery:


<1g (State Jail)

1-<4g (2nd degree)

4-<200g (1st degree)

200-<400g (life or 10-99 + up to $100,000)

400g+ (life or 15-99 + up to $250,000)


Penalty Group 1-A: LSD, etc.


Possession:


<20 units (State Jail)

20-79 units (3rd degree)

80-3,999 units (2nd degree)

4,000-7,999 units (1st degree)

8,000+ units (life or 15-99 + up to $250,000)


Manufacture /Delivery


<20 units (State Jail)

20-79 units (2nd degree)

80-3,999 units (1st degree)

4,000+ units (life or 15-99 + up to $250,000)


Penalty Group 2: Ecstasy, etc.


Possession:


<1g (State Jail)

1-<4g (3rd degree)

4-<400g (2nd degree)

400g+ (life or 5-99 + up to $50,000)


Manufacture/Delivery


<1g (State Jail)

1-<4g (3rd degree)

4-<400g (2nd degree)

400g+ (life or 5-99 + up to $50,000)


Penalty Group 3: Alprazolam, Clonazepam, etc.

and

Penalty Group 4: Codeine, etc.


Possession:


<28g (Class A)

28g-<200g (3rd degree)

200g-<400g (2nd degree)

400g+ (life or 5-99 + up to $50,000)

     

Manufacture/Delivery


<28g (State Jail)

28g-<200g (2nd degree)

200g-<400g (1st degree)

400g+ (life or 10-99 + up to $100,000)


Source.

Recent Posts

See All

Montgomery County, Texas, Pre-Trial Diversion

Pre-trial diversions are granted at the discretion of the Montgomery County District Attorney’s office. If granted a pre-trial diversion, your compliance and cooperation with the Montgomery County Dis

Maximum Punishment Levels in Texas

Levels of Offense Class C Misdemeanor: up to a $500 fine Class B Misdemeanor: up to 180 days in jail & up to $2,000 fine Class A Misdemeanor: up to a year in jail & up to a $4,000 fine State Jail Felo

25227 Grogans Mill - Suite 240, The Woodlands, Texas 77380

tim@conroedefense.com

O - (936) 333-5070

F - (833) 329-8461

Principal Office - The Woodlands, Texas

©2018 by Rose Rideauxx, PLLC